photo of Heidenfelder scholarship donors and winners

Education is one of the best investments you can make. The Department of Computer Science, the College of Natural Sciences, and CSU all offer a wide range of scholarships, fellowships, and awards to help you finance your education. Unlike student loans, these honors do not have to be repaid. Below are helpful resources for your scholarship search as well as a list of our computer science scholarships and fellowships and their previous recipients.

Thomas J. Heidenfelder Scholarship

Scholarships up to full in-state tuition, awarded each year to CS majors who have high academic achievement and demonstrated service to the field. US citizenship and Colorado or Illinois residency required.

John M. Miller 1995-1996
Jason R. Fritz 1996-1997
Michael Trombley 1997-1998
Colin Day 1997-1998
John Sapienza 1997-1998
Jason S. Moore 1998-1999
Adam Carheden 1999-2000
Andrew Grauch 2000-2001
Brian Pfau 2001-2002
Manfred Georg 2002-2003

Ian Rousom 2002-2003
Catherine Jones 2003-2004
Jonathan Haywood 2003-2004
Dustin Lehr 2004-2005
Jonathan Haywood 2004-2005
Kyle Thayer 2004-2005
Benson Joeris 2005-2006
Gary Lyman 2005-2006
Jasmun Hendrick 2006-2007
Weston Pace 2006-2007

Bailey Draper 2007-2008
Christina Williams 2007-2008
Kyle R. Kelley 2008-2009
Christopher Mullins 2009-2010
Daniel Goes 2010-2011
Jeremy Hyrkas 2011-2012
Devin M. Wilson 2012-2013
Kira Lindburg 2013-2014
Jeffrey Stern 2014-2015
Melinda Ryan 2015-2016

Ethan Coldren 2016-2017
Laura South 2017-2018

Patricia R. Mohilner Memorial Scholarship

Between $300 and $1000 per year, awarded to the undergraduate CS major with the best academic record. US citizenship or permanent residence required. Awarded to a junior for the senior year. Chosen by a faculty committee. No application necessary.

Michael T. Kelley 1984-1985
Robert S. Dye 1985-1986
Paul D. Burns 1986-1987
Christopher A. Bogart 1987-1988
Sarah Barrios 1988-1989
Jerlyn R. Cook 1989-1990
Michael L. Raymer 1990-1991
Kari E. Knudsen 1991-1992
Jeffrey H. Junker 1992-1993
Jan Kok 1993-1994

Stephane L. Freeman 1994-1995
Erin Elizabeth Fox 1995-1996
Paul E. Holland 1996-1997
Nathan Schroeder 1997-1998
Hans C. Petersen 1998-1999
David Scott Bolme 1999-2000
Michael Hake 2000-2001
Catherine E. Jones 2001-2002
Travis R. King 2002-2003
David Charles Straw 2003-2004

Alexander Deyke 2004-2005
Scott M. Lundberg 2005-2006
Benson Joeris 2006-2007
Jonathan Troup 2007-2008
Christopher Mullins 2008-2009
John Herndon 2009-2010
Cassandra Helms 2010-2011
Ryan A. Stern 2011-2012
Annika Muehlbradt 2012-2013
Byron Britt 2013-2014

Kira Lindburg 2014-2015
David Sahud 2015-2016
Tanner King 2016-2017
Meilin Kalahiki 2017-2018

James Sites and Elaine Regelson Undergraduate Research Scholarship

Dr. James Sites and Elaine Regelson established this scholarship to support outstanding undergraduates majoring in Physics and/or Computer Science who actively pursue research under the guidance of a Colorado State University faculty member. Up to three scholarships of approximately $1,250 each may be awarded during each academic year.

Aaron Hargerstrom 2006-2007
Andrew Stone 2006-2007
Kyle R. Kelley 2007-2008
Christopher Mullins 2007-2008
Truman Wilson 2007-2008
Aaron Hagerstrom 2007-2008
Nicholas Lewkow 2008-2009
Liam Kilcommons 2009-2010
Laura Adams 2010-2011
Jeremy Hyrkas 2010-2011

Kelly Mauser 2010-2011
Kelly Mauser 2011-2012
Thaddeus Johnston 2013-2014
Joseph Welch 2013-2014
Jordan Messec 2014-2015
Chancey Dunn 2015-2016
Theodore Michalakes 2016-2017
Blake Edwards 2017-2018

The Frances E. Allen Scholarship in Computer Science

Established by an anonymous donor in honor of Michelle Mills Strout in the Computer Science Department. The scholarship is named for Frances Allen, the first woman to receive the Turing Award.

Amanda Handler 2012-2013
Anne Ross 2013-2014
Kaila Thornton 2013-2014
Harina Pandari 2014-2015
Anne Ross 2014-2015
Lauren Bay 2015-2016
Sadie Henry 2016-2017
Meilin Kalahiki 2016-2017
Kelsey Cribari 2016-2017
Nicole Kacirek 2016-2017

Cassody Skorczewski 2017-2018
Nicole Kacirek 2017-2018
Audrey Newlon 2017-2018
Sarah Hultin 2017-2018
Courtney Schulze 2017-2018

The Steven Boyd, Jr. Scholarship

This scholarship was created by alumnus, Steven Boyd, Jr., to support underrepresented students in the Department of Computer Science.

Timothy Chesson 2013-2014
Timothy Chesson 2014-2015
Timothy Chesson 2015-2016
Barajdi Boralo 2015-2016
Timothy Chesson 2016-2017
Tre’vel Berry 2016-2017
Edward Lee 2017-2018
Darian Hill 2017-2018

P. R. Mukherjee Award in Computer Science

CSU Professors Indrakshi and Indrajit Ray established this award as a tribute to Indrakshi’s father, Mr. P.R. Mukherjee, and his love of science. This scholarship honors one graduate student for their achievement in research during the previous year.

Lynn and Bill Crane Scholarship in Computer Science

Established by Lynn and Bill Crane, this scholarship benefits undergraduate students majoring in Computer Science.

Computer Science Inclusion and Excellence Scholarship

Created to promote inclusion and excellence in the department by recruiting and retaining stellar underrepresented students in computer science.

Vidya Gaddy 2016-2017
Andrew Johnson 2016-2017
Kira Miller 2016-2017
Jesse Zuniga 2016-2017
Christy Lundberg 2017-2018
Tessa DeMuth 2017-2018
Nicole Standiford 2017-2018

The Grit Scholarship in Computer Science

This scholarship was established by Dale and Lou Grit to encourage students to pursue Computer Science as a major.

Lauren Bay 2016-2017
Rylie Denehan 2017-2018

Harmonious Software Scholarship

This scholarship was established by CSU alumnus Fred Pittroff and his wife Rosemary to support undergraduates in Computer Science pursuing a concentration in computing education or human-centered computing.

Laura Nolt 2017-2018

The Evolutionary Computation and Artificial Intelligence Graduate Fellowship

Established by the Computer Science Department to provide support to graduate students enrolled in the department.

Elliott Forney 2014-2015
Wenxiang Chen 2015-2016

The Computer Science Graduate Fellowship

Established by the Computer Science Department to provide support to graduate students enrolled in the department.

Phillipa Bennett 2015-2016
Benjamin Sattelberg 2017-2018

The Robert B. France Fellowship in Computer Science

This fund was established by gifts given in memory of Professor Robert France, a CNS professor laureate and beloved member of the Computer Science Department. This fellowship supports Computer Science graduate students engaging in research.

Phillipa Bennett 2015-2016
Mohammed Al-Refai 2017-2018

Anita Read Graduate Award

The Anita Read Graduate Award is given annually to a graduate student in Computer Science with demonstrated dedication to education and excellence in teaching. The recipient is selected by the department faculty.

Robert Rinker 1996-1997
Jeffrey P. Hammes 1997-1998
Soraya Rana 1998-1999
Robert M. Kretchmar 1998-1999
Wendy Yambor 1999-2000
Stefano Segreto 2000-2001
Kyungim Baek 2001-2002
Monica D. Chawathe 2002-2003
Lakshmi Renganarayana 2003-2004
Albert Lionelle 2004-2005

Eunjee Song 2004-2005
Charles Ross 2005-2006
Crystal Redman 2006-2007
Aritra Bandyopadhyay 2008-2009
Artem Sokolov 2009-2010
Christopher Wilcox 2010-2011
HyunChul Joh 2011-2012
Maggie Wigness 2012-2013
Kathleen Ericson 2013-2014
Awad Younis 2014-2015

Thilina Hewa Raga Munige 2015-2016
Andres Calderon Jaramillo 2016-2017
Athith Amarnath 2017-2018

Wim Bohm and Partners Ph.D. Award

This award was established by Department of Computer Science Professor Anton Willem Bohm and his former graduate students. The goal of this fund is to support computer science Ph.D. students in their final year of study, so that they can fully concentrate on their research.

Nirmal Prajapati 2018

Back to top of page