How a CSU dynamic duo blazed a trail for inclusion
Rachel Masters honored with prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
Rising star: Computer science undergraduate awarded for new digital portfolio product
Alumna Ratna Saripalli lands her ‘dream job’ as EMSL’s Chief Data Officer
$600K gift propels diversity initiatives in computing education at CSU
Meet four female students leading the future of computer science
We All Belong
Students rack up firsts at inclusive Tapia conference
Computer science welcomes largest incoming class of women
Colorado State University named 2019 BRAID Affiliate School

The Computer Science Department at Colorado State University supports and actively pursues diversity of all kinds. Our faculty, staff, alumni, and collaborators exemplify the diversity in underrepresented populations, backgrounds, and perspectives that we strive for in our student population.


The Department of Computer Science is dedicated to serving underrepresented populations and continually works on initiatives to foster a supportive environment, collaborations, and opportunities for women and underrepresented groups in the field of computer science. We are updating curriculum across content areas to ensure computer science access for everyone, fueling student involvement, providing diversity scholarships, leading outreach and summer programs at CSU and in the community, and building relationships and confidence in our underrepresented and female populations.


Diversity & Inclusion


Diversity & Inclusion


Diversity & Inclusion


Diversity & Inclusion


The Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences, and CSU offer scholarships related to diversity, including scholarships designed to recruit and retain students from underrepresented populations. Below is a list of the diversity-related scholarships offered by the department.

Frances E. Allen Scholarship in Computer Science

Established by an anonymous donor in honor of Michelle Mills Strout, formerly in the Department of Computer Science at CSU. The scholarship is named for Frances Allen, the first woman to receive the Turing Award, which is the most prestigious award in Computer Science.

Computer Science Inclusion and Excellence Scholarship

This fund was created to promote inclusion and excellence in the department by recruiting and retaining stellar underrepresented students in computer science. Awards are selected in March for students entering as Computer Science majors in the following August.

The Steven Boyd, Jr. Scholarship

This scholarship was created by alumnus Steven Boyd, Jr. to support underrepresented students in the Department of Computer Science.

The Grit Scholarship in Computer Science

This scholarship was established by Dale and Lou Grit to encourage students to pursue Computer Science as a major.

Grace Hopper Conference Sponsorship

In addition to recruiting and retention scholarships, the department offers student scholarships to attend the annual Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing held each October. Student selection occurs during spring semester and is based on an essay from each applicant.

Tapia Conference Sponsorship

The department offers student scholarships to attend the annual ACM Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing held each September. Student selection occurs during spring semester and is based on an essay from each applicant.