Welcome! At the Colorado State University Department of Computer Science, we believe that collaboration is essential to discovery. Our students are collaborating with each other to expand their perspective and skills. Our faculty are collaborating with colleagues around the world to find novel solutions and new paths in research, teaching, and service. And together we can harness the power of our relationships to explore, invent, and achieve at the lightening-fast pace our field requires. We are thankful and proud to have engaged alumni, partners, and friends like you.


From bonsais to jet engines, computer scientist Darrell Whitley’s work cultivates new approaches

Darrell Whitley is an internationally known computer scientist – and an award-winning bonsai cultivator. He recently joined the Colorado State University College of Natural Sciences Dean’s Office for a year as acting associate dean for academics.

Computer Science graduate student wins regional STEM thesis competition

Hajar Homayouni won the Western Association of Graduate Schools (WAGS)/ProQuest Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award for her research in data warehouse assurance, which is helping to improve the quality of healthcare data.

The right data, right now: Ph.D. dissertation awarded for transforming data management

Ph.D. student Matt Malensek is researching how to find snowflakes in a blizzard of data.

Ten-hour dash: Computer science undergraduates win National Society of Black Engineers hackathon

Create a platform that will motivate and simplify voting. You have 10 hours. Go.

Back to top of page